I Have Hired a New Model.

I have not fired adult styrofoam head, her job is secure.

I was over visiting The Wee House of Crochet complimenting on one of her toddler hats. She told me that she had just ordered baby and toddler mannequin heads for displaying hats and help with sizing her hats. This reminded me that I was going to get one of my childhood dolls out of my keepsake bin for just that purpose. I was sure that she had a head circumference of 14 inches which corresponds with newborn size in most crochet hat sizing charts.
I received this doll from a couple that had taken a shine to me. They were our neighbors when we lived in Glasgow, Montana in 1972. She was a second-hand doll but she still worked. When she was new she came with a phone that she “held” in her hand. You pushed a button on her hand that made her talk. She would say one of 11 different phrases as if she were talking to you over the phone. She was sold back in 1971 by the Mattel Toy Company as “Hi, Dottie”. I don’t think she had the phone, just the hand set when they gave her to me. I can’t remember if she had shoes at that time.
So Saturday afternoon I got her out of my keepsake bin. She needed a bit of cleaning, her hair need a wash and a comb. So without further ado, I would like you to meet Dottie my new model for baby hats.

 

This is her original dress.
Her left eye is faded and that might be a pen stain on her cheek. We will say it is her beauty mark. 🙂
Full standing view.
I laid her down to measure her. Those are also her original underwear.
She is 17 inches tall.
I was pretty close on her head circumference. It is actually 13 and a half inches. So if the hat is a little big it should be fine for a newborn.

Here are a few photos of her doing her modeling.

 

4 thoughts on “I Have Hired a New Model.

  1. Pingback: Skrappy Skarves Hired a New Model. | Our Retired Life

    • I was actually trying to make some the other day. Just could not get them to look right. I think I may have copied the pattern,with pen to paper, wrong from my kindle.I did this because they shut down after no activity, I didn’t want to keep turning it back on for the next round or row of the pattern. Have not bothered to check yet though. 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Dottie is precious! And a natural at modeling! So well behaved for the photo shoot! She wasn’t squirming or fussing at all like many toddlers do! What a great idea Arlene! I need to keep an eye out of large dolls at yard sales. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

