My WIP’s List Just Got Shorter But This Post Kept Getting Longer.

Tuesday was another cloudy, dreary, wet day.

So I busted out this bad boy.

I was finally in the mood to do some sewing. I was able to get two projects finished. The first was adding the liner with pockets to the crochet fabric to complete the makeover on my crochet hook pouch. I selected my fabric and fitted it to the size the crochet fabric. I had some spray fabric finish that I got from my sister-in-law which I used to iron the piece to fit. I just folded it, sprayed it, ironed it in place. It worked like a light starch. I loved doing this instead of pinning the fabric. I am always pricking my fingers. Nope, don’t own a thimble. lol  I then used another piece and sewed each pocket for each hook. I then sewed  the big orange button onto the crochet fabric. After that I sewed the pocketed liner to the crochet fabric. I then crocheted the button loop. And there you have it a finished crochet hook pouch. It may not be perfect, but it is just for me. I liked how it turned out.  😀

The Old Crochet Hook Pouch

Just a reminder what it use to look like.

The Crochet Fabric

The New Crochet Hook Pouch

Project Name: Crochet Hook Pouch Make Over
Designed by Arlene K. Didier from Skrappy Skarves
Hook: F/5 -3.75 mm
Stitches: Single crochet
Colors: Red Heart Wintuk Handknitting 100% Virgin Orlon Acrylic Fiber in 255 Burnt Orange for trim.
Tied- together Unlabled Scrap Ball of rainbow variegated yarn.
Crochet fabric piece measures 10 1/2 by 6 1/2 inches

 

Now on to the second project I finished sewing.

That would be the Blues Market Bag.

A look back at its beginnings.

The crochet bag all finished just waiting and waiting and waiting for that lining to be sewn in.

I did the lining a bit differently this time. Instead of just laying the fabric out, folded in half, laying the bag on the fold and tracing to make the liner. I cut five different pieces from cloth napkins that I purchased at the Senior Citizens’ Garage Sale thrift store. I got 4 of these light blue ones for a dollar. I cut two side pieces, a front and a back piece and the bottom piece. I sewed the sides to the bottom first. Second, I sewed  the front to the bottom then the front to the sides. Next I sewed the back to the bottom then the bottom to the sides. I now had a nice rectangular fabric bag. I then turned it inside out and placed it over the crochet bag which was also inside out. I hand stitched them together using a heavy waxy thread and needle. When I finished stitching I turned the whole thing inside right again.  And finally that lining is sewn in.

Project Name: Blue Multi-Color Market Bag/Purse
Pattern Used: Dynamite Market Bag
Designed by: Jaime Maraia from Crochet Dynamite .com
Started on: 02/05/2017
Finished Crochet on: 03/07/2017
Finished Sewing in Liner on: 04/04/2017
Hook Used: I/9 – 5.50 mm
Stitches Used: Half Double Crochet and Single Crochet
Colors Used: Red Heart Wintuk Knit and Crochet 100% Virgin Orlon Acrylic Fabric in 814 Robin Blue
Red Heart Super Saver Jumbo 100% Acrylic 4 Ply worsted wieght in 0381 Light Blue and 0387 Soft Navy
Kitten Spun Yarn Knitting 100% Acrylic 4 ply worsted weight in Light/Dark Blue Ombre
Unlabeled Skein in Purples/Blues variegated
Vonnel Pop n Yarn 100% Acrylic 4 ply Worsted Weight in 605 Blue/ White (variegated)
Measurements: 10 inches in length x 11 inches wide. Base is 3 inches x 11 inches
List Price: $ 20.00

__________________________________________________________________________

I didn’t have to sew the next two projects, but they are finished too. Instead of working on the baby blanket this week, I finished up the rust colored beanie and made some matching mittens to go with it.

The Beanie

Project Name: Brushed Rust Set- Beanie
Pattern Used: Bubblegum Heart Beanie or Emy’s Beanie
Designed by: Amanda Evanson from MNE Crafts.com
Started on: 03/19/2017
Finished on: 04/02/2017
Hook Used: I/9 – 5.50 mm
Stitches Used: Front Post Double Croche, Front Post Single Crochet, and Single Crochet
Colors Used: Red Heart Caress 60% Acrylic 40% Nylon 4 ply Brushed yarn in 281 Rust
Unlabled Scrap Ball in Peachy Pencil
Measurements: Circumference of 20 inches. Crown to edge measures 8 inches when laid flat.
Size Made: Teen/ Small Adult
List Price: $ 8.00

The Mittens

Project Name: Brushed Rust Set- Mittens
Pattern Used: Mommy’s Simply Easy Mittens
Designed by: Rhondda Mol From Oombawka Designs
Started on: First Mitten: 04/02/2017 Second Mitten: 04/03/2017
Finished on: First Mitten: 04/02/2017 Second Mitten: 04/03/2017
Hook Used: I/9 – 5.50 mm
Stitches Used: Single Crochet, Single crochet back loop only, Half Double crochet, and Half double crochet 2 together
Colors Used: Red Heart Caress 60% Acrylic 40% Nylon 4 ply Brushed yarn in 281 Rust
Unlabeled Scrap Ball in Peachy Pencil
Measurements: Cuff- 3 1/2 inches wide. Thumb palm 5 inches wide. Fingertip 3 1/2 inches wide.
Length: 10 inches
Size Made: Teen/ Small Adult
List Price: $ 8.00

Total Price of Set: $16.00

4 thoughts on “My WIP’s List Just Got Shorter But This Post Kept Getting Longer.

  1. Pingback: Skrappy Skarves’ – My WIP’s List Just Got Shorter But This Post Kept Getting Longer. | Our Retired Life

  2. I love that sewing machine!! Mine is gathering dust (bought it on sale thinking I would magically become a seamstress) Looks like you’ve been super busy!! Gray and rainy here too – oh well April Showers bring May Flowers right?? 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • My mom got me that sewing machine for a dollar at a yard sale many many moons ago. I finally got the cabinet about 5 years ago from a coworker for free. I knew I would not become a seamstress. It can just sew a straighter line for the few simple projects I do. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

