Frogging, Renewing, and Improve!

I always got my best grades in Speech Class for my Improve.

 

Saturday afternoon I was working on the pencil colored pencil case.

 

I noticed that I had added about 5 more stitches per round than I needed.I started ripping it back to find where I had gone astray. I found the place, but I just kept on ripping it out until I had totally frogged it. I decided that I didn’t like the look of it anyway. I was about to start over, when I thought I should give the pencil a point.

So I found my patten for the Halloween Candy Corn Treat Bag by Kara Gunza from petaltopicots.com This pattern starts out with a point. I had to go up a hook size to H/8 – 5.00 mm, because I have trouble seeing the stitches when I am working with black and small hooks. I did the treat bag pattern up to Round 9 which was 22 single crochets. This fit the paper towel tube snuggly at this stage. I continued to do 22 single crochets at Round 12, I changed from black to the peachy pencil color. I will continue in this manner until the piece is long enough to cover the large piece of tube. 16a-pencil-colored-pencil-case

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I will go back to the pencil case pattern ,also by Kara Gunza, to finish the small piece of tube in the eraser pink yarn.

Sunday morning the internet was acting a fool. I decided to work on marking the dates on Martin photos in paintbrush. I do this so they are dated when I post them to my Martin Facebook Photo Album. I spent about 2 hours getting that caught up. Dang, I forgot to upload the park pictures from Tuesday! That’s ok at least now I am not months behind.

I finished that up and checked the internets, still fooling around! So I decide to do some crocheting. I didn’t want to work on the pencil case again that morning. I still have not regained my intrest in the blue market bag, so I didn’t want to work on it.

I decided to go ahead and start a scarf. I had this plan in my head of what I wanted to do. I had spent the other night going through my crochet books on the Kindle but didn’t find what I was looking for. I could not do some hunting for a pattern online this morning either. So with a size I/9 – 5.50 mm hook ( I have noticed that lots of scarf patterns use this size hook) and a scrap ball of Red Heart with Love yarn in Blue Belle I set out to make my vision a reality.

I wanted the scarf to be double crochet, but with some skipped stitches. So it would be light and airy enough to wear in spring and summer. After about 4 false starts, I achieved the look I had invisioned in my head. I am sure there are patterns out there that would achieve this same look, but what I did worked for me.

This is how it looks so far. It is 7 inches wide and was 27 rows long when I took these photos. I worked on it a bit more last night. I am going to call this my Double Skip Skarf Pattern.

So what do you thing of my skarf, so far?

 

 

One thought on “Frogging, Renewing, and Improve!

  1. Pingback: MoreWIP Happenings | Our Retired Life

Leave a Reply

