My Summer Visor: The MakeOver

After making a new adult visor for sale, I took another look at my visor and decided to redo it. It was loosely crocheted and just looked messy to me. I have improved and augmented the pattern to better suit my crocheting style since I made this. Instead of starting the brim right after finishing the band, I fastened it off. I then count half of the total stitch count from the begining stitch in this case it was 40 stitches. I place a stitch marker there. I then counted 18 stitches to the right of that marker. It is half of the total stitch count of 36 for the first row of the brim. Doing this puts the brim in the middle of the band, so it is not right next to your seam from slip stitching for the next round.19d-sunvisor

It places the seam at  the back of the visor rather then the side. Like in my original visor.

 

 

 

I also made the band only 5 rows instead of the 7 called for in the Adult visor. I do this because I then single crochet a round the top with a trim color. After I finish the brim I single crochet a round it and the bottom of the band with another trim color. So I still get 7 rounds, just not all Half Double crochet.

I like my Makeover better it has a smaller circumference so it fits more snuggly. The band is narrower so it doesn’t cover half the back of my head. The Original looks more pinkish because of the contrast color. The MakeOver the blue is brought out more because of the blue trim color. I thought that was neato.

 

 

Project Name: My Summer Visor
Pattern Used: Summer Visor by Tia Davis from Craftown
http://www.craftown.com/Summer-Visor.html
Hook Used: H/8 – 5.00 mm
Stitches Used: Slip Stitch, Single Crochet, Half Double and Double Crochet
Colors Used: One ball of unlabeled yarn in Dusty Rose Pink
Red Heart Super Saver Jumbo 100% Acrylic 4 ply worsted weight in 0784 Bon Bon Print
Measurements: Circumference of 22 inches when laid flat. Band and brim each measure 2 1/2 inches wide.
The Makeover
Started: 02/21/2017
Finished: 02/22/2017
Same Hook size used.
New Trim Colors: Unlabled Ball of Bright Pink.
Red Heart Super Saver With Love 100% Acrylic 4 ply Worsted Weight in Blue Belle
Measurements: Circumference 20 inches.
Band Width: 2 1/2 inches
Brim measures 12 inches long by 2 1/2 inches wide

 

One thought on “My Summer Visor: The MakeOver

  1. Pingback: Redo From Pink To Blue! | Our Retired Life

Leave a Reply

