I Have A Heart!

 

I have used this pattern 3 other times. The first time I was not very skilled at Front Post Double Crochet. I just used Double crochet so the beanie turned out to be a slouchie. I made it using Caron Simply Soft Yarn in white and blue for my grandson, Martin. Here is how it turned out.

20-martins-heart-slouchie-colored

 

 

 

 

 

 

My daughter liked how it turned out and requested one made the same way. I did hers in black and bon bon print for the heart. I had to redo it because I made the opening to small and it squished her head. It looks great now that was remedied.

I was now a bit further into my resurgence of my crocheting, so I thought I would give this beanie another go using the proper front post double crochet stitch. I followed the 2T – 3T pattern to make another beanie for my grandson. I started one then pulled it out because I didn’t like how it was looking carrying the red along showed through in the white and carrying the white along in the red messed up the look of the heart. I then just left the unused color hang and picked it back up later.

21-martins-red-heart-beanie-colored

 

 

 

 

 

 

That brings us to the one I made for myself. I really liked this pattern. It makes a thick beanie without having to use two strands held together. I  used a little over 3 ounces of 4 ply worsted weight yarn for the main color though, so make sure you start with a fresh skein. You may use a little more or less then that depending on how tight you crochet.

I followed the pattern for the adult size. I followed it to the letter no alterations done on my part. I think it turned out great!

The final stats and photos.

32e-pink-heart-hat

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Project Name: Pink Heart Hat
Pattern Used: Bubblegum Heart Beanie or Emy’s Beanie
Designed by: Amanda Evanson from MNE Crafts
Started on: 12/26/2016
Finished on: 12/27/2016
Hook Used: I/9 – 5.50 mm
Stitches Used: Front Post Double Crochet and Front Post Single Crochet
Colors Used: Red Heart Super Saver accent 100% Acrylic 4 ply worsted weight in 0779 Cranberry
Unlabele Ball of pink yarn
Measurements: Circumference of 20 inches . Crown to edge measures 8 inches when laid flat.
Size Made: Adult

 

 

5 thoughts on “I Have A Heart!

  1. Pingback: I Have A Heart! — Skrappy Skarves | Our Retired Life

  2. hello. good job on the hat. its really pretty and good choice of colours. i was wondering, did you accessed the pattern OK? i have problems, when i click the link it takes me to website that has expired.

    Like

    • I just clicked on the link myself. I also get the domain has expired message. This means that the person who had the website did not pay to renew to keep the domain. I had no idea about this. I am sad that she did not chose to renew, But you never know what may be going on in a fellow bloggers personal life and they may have not been able to continue to keep their site open. I do know that she had not posted new things for a very long time. I am sorry you were unable to get the pattern.

      Like

Leave a Reply

