In The Round Clutch Pattern Tutorial Part 3: The Liner

Well earlier this week I was able to find the right frame of mind to get the sewing machine set up. So with out further ado here is the liner tutorial and the finished Bon bon Print Clutch Bag.

photo-tutorial-clutch-lining-1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

As you may recall this is the fabric I chose to use for the lining. I purchased it at my favorite thrift shop, The Senior Citizens’ Garage Sale. It is actually a cloth napkin. I got a set of 4 for a dollar. I thought they were the perfect size to make a  bag lining. I still have 3 so if I ever get around to making a bag that size I have the fabric.

1a-clutch-liner-tutorial

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

First I had to iron out a few wrinkles.

2-clutch-liner-tutorial

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then I folded the end of the fabric up to about the size of the bag.

3-clutch-liner-tutorial

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I laid the bag on top of the fabric to make any adjustments to the fold.

4-clutch-liner-tutorial

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I placed my seam gauge beside the bag to provide a straight edge to draw a line on the fabric to indicate where I would pin the fabric.

5-clutch-liner-tutorial

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have drawn the line Do Not Cross it. 🙂

7-clutch-liner-tutorial

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have sewn up the open side of fabric and inside the line on the other side.

I have cut off the excess fabric from the side.

Now I fit the liner over the end of the bag. I turn it inside out over the bag so now the seams of the lining are inside against the bag.

14-clutch-liner-tutorial

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now we have to take care of the extra fabric at the top. I folded it in so it is just inside the black trim of the flap and pinned it in place.

15-clutch-liner-tutorial

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I then sewed it and removed the pins.

16-clutch-liner-tutorial

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I still have all the extra fabric at the top. I folded it down so it was just below the button hole

. You don’t want to cover up the button hole.

17-clutch-liner-tutorial

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I cut most of the excess off. I still wanted a bit to fold under for a nice edge.

18-clutch-liner-tutorial

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The top and sides of fabric are now all sewn in place on the flap.

Now I have turned the bag over so that I can secure the lining to the opening of the bag. I pulled the lining down so that it was just under the bag’s top round.

21-clutch-liner-tutorial

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You can choose to sew this part by hand. I chose to use my machine because it is faster and sews in an even straight line, by hand I am all over the place. 🙂  This part was a bit tricky, the fabric was actually face down on my machine so I was sewing blind and I had to sew in a circle with the rest of the bag above the needle. As you can see I nearly missed a spot on the right side, but liner is now secured to the bag.

Now I turn the bag inside in. So now the liner is in the inside where it should be.

26-clutch-liner-tutorial

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now is the time for me to sew on that dark pink button with some blue thread, keeping in line with the color theme of the yarn.

27-clutch-liner-tutorial

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

TA DA!! all finished.

Project Name: Bon Bon Print Clutch Bag
Pattern Used: In the Round Clutch
Designed by Arlene K. Didier from Skrappy Skarves
Started on: 11/4/2016
Finished on: 12/2/2016
Hook Used: F/5 – 3.75
Stitches Used: Double crochet, Double Crochet Back Loop only, Single Crochet and Slip Stitch
Colors Used: Red Heart Super Saver Jumbo 100% Acrylic 4 ply worsted weight in 0784 Bon Bon Print
Red Heart Super Saver 100% Acrylic 4 ply worsted weight in 0312 Black
Other Materials: 1 inch diameter Button and Small Piece of Light Blue Fabric
Measurements: Open – 8 inches by 7 inches wide Closed – 5 inches by 7 inches wide Flap – 3 inches by 7 inches
List Price: $ 8.00

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “In The Round Clutch Pattern Tutorial Part 3: The Liner

  1. Pingback: My Blacklight Camera Case – Skrappy Skarves

Leave a Reply

