Can You Top Hat?

I was looking at free patterns on redheart.com many months ago, when I came across this top hat pattern. I thought it was pretty cool, so I put it on my to crochet in the future list. The pattern called for two strands held together. I had a Jumbo skein of black but did not want to wind a separate ball to do the pattern. I also had few other projects already going. I didn’t need to start another one until I got one of the others done.

While visiting my favorite used store, The Senior Citizen’s Garage Sale, I found a 7 oz. skein of Super Saver in the same black I already had at home. I was getting closer to having all the yarn colors. The pattern also called for white, to do a herringbone hat band, but that involved doing one stitch black, one stitch white to get the herringbone pattern. I don’t care for doing that, plus it was done in rows of only 10 stitches. That would have driven me crazy getting it long enough to go around the hat then seaming the ends together. Well the crochet gods were looking favorably down on me. While I was in Wal-Mart shopping one afternoon, I found this lovely variegated skein of Super Saver in Zebra!

super-saver-5-oz-0932-zebra

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I thought it would work great as the color for the top hat’s band. Now that I had all the proper yarns I could start it at any time. So after I finished Nick’s Creeper I set to work on it. I am quite happy with the final results. 😀

40a-top-hat

Project Name: Black Top Hat with removable Zebra Shells Hat Band
Pattern Used: Top Hat Sophisticate Designed by Sharon Mann for Red Heart Yarn
Pattern # LW4441
Pattern for Hat band was taken from this pattern Summer Joy By: Maria Bittner from Pattern-Paradise
I used the band section of the pattern. I Chained 84 then slip stitched to join then followed the pattern. I did Rounds 3 and 4 twice and then did Round 5. I joined black and single crocheted around. Slip stitched to join changing to white chained one, Single crocheted around in white. Fastened off and weaved in ends. Repeated the rounds of black and white on other end of Hat band.
Started on: 10/25/2016
Finished on: 11/17/2016
Hook Used: I/9 – 5.50 mm
Stitches Used: Single crochet, Single crochet2together. Using 2 strands held together through out hat.
Single strand for Hat band.
Colors Used: Red Heart Super Saver Jumbo 100% Acrylic 4 ply worsted weight in 0312 Black and 0311 White
Red Heart Super Saver 100% Acrylic 4 ply worsted weight in 0312 Black and 0932 Zebra
Measurements: Circumference of 22 inches just above the brim. Crown to edge measures 12 inches when laid flat. Standing up it is 8 1/2 inches tall. Brim measures 2 inches.
removable Hat band is 22 inches in circumference and 3 1/2 inches wide.
Size Made: Adult

 

 

 

One thought on “Can You Top Hat?

  1. Pingback: Can You Top Hat? — Skrappy Skarves | Our Retired Life

Leave a Reply

